Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In
HRSA-Designated Special Populations

Serving HRSA-Designated Special Populations

Community Health Centers provide access to high-quality health care services in medically underserved areas and for underserved communities in our stateHealth Centers provide care to everyone, regardless of their insurance status or ability to pay for care, and are an essential part of the health care safety net in Wisconsin and across the U.S.


WPHCA is committed to working with Wisconsin’s Community Health Centers and partner agencies to better understand and respond to the needs of individuals and families who face inordinate barriers to health and health care, with a particular focus on HRSA-designated special populations.


Who are Special Populations?

Under Section 330 of the Public Health Service Act – the federal legislation creating the Health Center Program – some health centers receive funding to specifically target one of three “special populations” (as defined by the 330 statute):


    • Section 330(g): Migrant and seasonal farmworkers and their families
    • Section 330(h): Individuals/persons experiencing homelessness
    • Section 330(i): Residents of public housing


In addition to serving special populations named above, Health Centers provide comprehensive, culturally-competent primary health care services to everyone in the community. Health Centers provide care to populations facing barriers to health and health care, including (but not limited to) school-aged children, the elderly, pregnant women and infants, immigrants and refugees, the LGBTQ+ community, people with disabilities, and military veterans.



WPHCA’s Role in Supporting HRSA-Designated Special Populations

    • WPHCA integrates special populations topics into the T/TA we provide, with the goal of to increasing awareness of the special populations that Health Centers serve among Wisconsin Health Centers and external partners.
    • WPHCA supports Health Centers to navigate and facilitate connections to appropriate National Technical Assistance Partners (NTAPs, formerly known as National Cooperative Agreements (NCAs)).
    • WPHCA invests in developing partnerships with partners who serve special populations at the statewide level and with other Primary Care Association across the state.
    • WPHCA supports special populations designee Health Centers through individualized training and technical assistance, if and as appropriate.


In Wisconsin, there are several Health Centers who have special population designations. To learn more about Health Centers with special designations, please select the pages below.


 Health Care for the Homeless       |       Health Care for MSAW